- What the Gaming and Vending Technician Credential Is
- Who Issues It and Who It Is Built For
- The Written Exam: Format and Rules
- The Five Competency Categories
- Registration, Proctoring, and Fee Mechanics
- Eligibility and Experience: What Is and Is Not Stated
- Retakes, the Four-Year Term, and Maintenance
- Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Five Categories
- Where the Credential Fits in Your Career
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The Gaming and Vending Technician (GVT) is an ETA International credential: 75 questions, 2 hours, 75% passing score.
- The exam fee is $105 USD; remote proctoring adds $16 and is payable again on a retake.
- Five competency categories drive the questions, from money handling through safety precautions and protection.
- No hands-on exam is required, and the credential is entry-level for technicians with an electronics background.
What the Gaming and Vending Technician Credential Is
The Gaming and Vending Technician (GVT) certification is a specialty credential for people who service the electronic and electromechanical equipment found in gaming and vending environments. That means machines that accept cash, dispense product or play, communicate over networks, and display information to customers. The credential verifies that a technician understands the fundamentals required to work on that equipment safely and competently.
It is a written knowledge credential. You sit for a single exam, you do not perform a practical demonstration, and the questions are drawn from a published list of competencies. If you want a plain-language orientation before going deeper, the articles on what GVT certification is and what GVT stands for cover the basics, and this guide focuses on how the certification actually works in practice.
Who Issues It and Who It Is Built For
The certification is issued by ETA International, a certifying body for electronics and related technician fields. ETA lists the GVT among its specialty certifications. It is a stand-alone credential: you do not need to hold another ETA certification, and in particular the CETa (Certified Electronics Technician associate) is not a prerequisite.
ETA positions the GVT as entry-level and intended for technicians with an electronics background. That framing matters for how you prepare. The exam does not assume you are a veteran of casino floors or route-vending operations, but it does assume you can reason about circuits, components, and basic computing hardware. Candidates who have worked in electronics repair, field service, or equipment maintenance will find the foundations familiar and the industry-specific application the new part.
Typical employers and roles
The credential is relevant wherever coin, bill, card, and cashless payment equipment is maintained. Think gaming operators and suppliers, vending and micro-market operators, amusement and entertainment venues, and service companies that contract to maintain machines. For a closer look at the employment side, see the overview of GVT jobs, and for earnings context see the GVT salary guide.
The Written Exam: Format and Rules
The exam is a written knowledge test with 75 questions and a 2-hour time limit. The passing score is 75%. ETA does not publish the scored versus unscored question split, the exact mix of question types, or a raw count of questions you must answer correctly, so avoid any study resource that claims to know those details. If you want to unpack how the 75% threshold works, the guide to the GVT passing score goes deeper.
| Exam Element | What ETA Specifies |
|---|---|
| Issuer | ETA International |
| Format | Written knowledge exam, no hands-on component |
| Number of questions | 75 |
| Time allowed | 2 hours |
| Passing score | 75% |
| Delivery | Computer-based (Trapeza) or paper/pencil with an ETA Certification Administrator; remote proctoring via ExamRoom.AI arranged through ETA |
| Credential term | 4 years |
Testing-room rules you should plan around
Under ETA's testing rules, scratch paper and a non-programmable or scientific calculator are permitted. A photo ID is required. Phones are prohibited. Used scratch paper must be surrendered at the end, and you may not leave the room once testing has started, so handle everything beforehand and budget your two hours accordingly.
One thing to be careful about: ETA's Common Formulas Sheet authorization does not name the GVT, and GVT-specific open-book or adaptive-testing rules were not verified. Do not walk in expecting a provided formula sheet. Memorize the relationships you need, and confirm the current rules with ETA or your test site before exam day. Remote candidates must also meet equipment requirements for the proctored session.
The Five Competency Categories
ETA states that exam questions derive from its published competency requirements for the GVT. The document is a four-page list organized into five numbered categories. ETA does not publish percentage weights for them, so you should not assume any one category is "worth the most." Treat all five as testable and prepare accordingly. The full breakdown lives in the GVT exam domains guide; here is how each category shapes your preparation.
1.0 MONEY HANDLING
This is the category that makes the GVT distinct from a generic electronics credential. Gaming and vending machines exist to accept and account for money, so the technician must understand the devices and logic involved.
- How currency and coin acceptance and validation equipment works at a conceptual level
- How payment-handling hardware is serviced, cleaned, and kept reliable
- Why accurate accounting of money moving through a machine matters to the operator and the technician
2.0 ELECTRICAL FUNDAMENTALS
The foundation under everything else. Expect questions that test whether you can reason about electrical quantities rather than simply recall definitions.
- Voltage, current, resistance, and power, and the relationships among them
- Series and parallel circuit behavior
- AC versus DC and what each means for the equipment you service
- Using a scientific calculator quickly and correctly for these relationships
3.0 BASIC ELECTRONICS CONCEPTS
This category moves from the circuit level to the components that populate a machine's boards and power supplies.
- Common passive and active components and what each does in a circuit
- Power supply concepts and how they feed the rest of the machine
- Reading and reasoning about simple schematics and test measurements
4.0 COMPUTER HARDWARE, NETWORKING, AND DISPLAY TECHNOLOGIES
Modern machines are computers with cabinets. This category covers the digital side of the equipment.
- Core computer hardware and how its parts interact
- Basic networking concepts relevant to connected machines
- Display technologies used in gaming and vending equipment
5.0 SAFETY PRECAUTIONS AND PROTECTION
Safety is the fifth and final category. Electrical safety appears as a subsection within it, not as a separate sixth category, so do not be thrown if a practice resource lists the categories differently.
- Protecting yourself and others when servicing energized equipment
- Electrical safety practices as a subsection of this category
- Protection of equipment and components during service
Key Takeaway
Because there are no published weights, do not skip a category on the theory that it is "light." Money Handling in particular is where electronics-only candidates tend to be least prepared, since it is specific to this credential rather than to electronics generally.
Registration, Proctoring, and Fee Mechanics
The exam fee is $105 USD. ETA does not publish a separate member and non-member price for this exam, and training and study materials are billed separately from the exam fee. If you choose remote proctoring, an additional $16 applies to the two-hour exam, and that charge is payable again if you retake the exam remotely.
You will see a $100 figure for this exam on an indexed ETA Press listing. That conflicts with the current price on the issuer's own certification information, and the listing could not be verified, so $105 is the number to budget against. Always confirm the live price when you register, since fees can change. The GVT certification cost breakdown walks through the full picture including maintenance.
Choosing a delivery option
- In-person at a test site: ETA Certification Administrators proctor either a Trapeza computer-based exam or a paper-and-pencil exam. Check ETA's test-site information for locations and arrangements.
- Remote proctored: ExamRoom.AI provides remote proctoring, arranged through ETA. Verify the equipment requirements ahead of time, and remember the added $16 fee.
For scheduling specifics and how to plan around availability, see the GVT exam dates article.
Eligibility and Experience: What Is and Is Not Stated
ETA's main certification page for the GVT does not give a quantified experience, education, training-hour, or reference minimum. It would be a mistake to read that silence as "anyone can sit with zero background." What ETA does state, in its badge criteria, is that the credential is for practicing technicians and that earning it involves passing the written exam and accepting the ETA Code of Conduct. No required duration of experience is attached to that language.
The practical reading: the credential is aimed at working or electronics-trained technicians, no specific hours or years are published, and you should confirm any current eligibility details directly with ETA before registering. For a fuller discussion, see the GVT requirements guide.
Retakes, the Four-Year Term, and Maintenance
The free retake
If you do not pass, ETA allows one eligible free retake. You must wait 30 days, and the retake must be completed within one year of your first sitting. The free retake is not available simply to improve a score you have already passed. Note that if you retake with remote proctoring, the $16 proctoring fee is still owed.
Staying certified
The certification term is 4 years. To maintain it, ETA's general maintenance process requires a Certification Maintenance Form along with one of two documentation paths:
- 10 continuing-education hours per year (40 hours over the four-year cycle), or
- Employer Verification completed by a supervisor, confirming relevant employment.
The maintenance fee is $25 per year ($100 per cycle), and ETA recommends submitting annually rather than waiting until the end. One wrinkle: an undated ETA maintenance overview PDF lists the GVT with an international annual fee of $45, while the live maintenance page shows $25 with no regional distinction. Whether a higher international fee applies today is unresolved, so check the current maintenance page or ask ETA if you are outside the United States.
If you are weighing whether the ongoing commitment pays off, the is GVT certification worth it analysis lays out the trade-offs.
Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Five Categories
You do not need an elaborate system. Order your study by dependency: the later categories lean on the earlier ones, so build from the ground up. A sensible sequence puts electrical fundamentals first, because Ohm's law and power relationships appear everywhere, and gives Money Handling dedicated attention because it will be unfamiliar to many electronics-trained candidates.
2.0 Electrical Fundamentals
- Drill voltage, current, resistance, and power calculations on a scientific calculator
- Work series and parallel circuit problems until they are automatic
3.0 Basic Electronics Concepts
- Review components and power supply behavior
- Practice interpreting simple schematics and measurements
1.0 Money Handling and 4.0 Computer, Networking, and Display
- Learn the logic and servicing of payment-handling equipment
- Cover computer hardware, networking basics, and display technologies
5.0 Safety, then full review
- Cover safety precautions and protection, including electrical safety
- Take timed practice sets to rehearse the 2-hour, 75-question pace
This is a template, not a requirement; stretch it if you are newer to electronics or compress it if you work on these machines daily. For a broader approach, see the GVT study guide, and when you want a quick refresher the night before, the GVT cheat sheet is built for that. To test yourself under realistic conditions, try the GVT practice tests and focus your review on whichever category produces your weakest results.
Calibrating the difficulty
Because the exam is entry-level and written, it rewards solid fundamentals more than obscure trivia. That said, a 75% threshold across 75 questions leaves limited room to be weak in any one area. For an honest read on how demanding it is, see how hard the GVT exam is, and for what is and is not known about outcomes, the GVT pass rate article explains why published data is limited.
Where the Credential Fits in Your Career
The GVT is a specialty credential, meaning it signals focused competence in a particular equipment niche rather than broad electronics mastery. For a technician already working in or moving toward gaming or vending service, it provides a recognized, issuer-backed way to demonstrate that you understand both the electronics and the money-handling context those machines require.
Because it is stand-alone and entry-level, it can serve as a first formal credential or as a specialty add-on to broader electronics experience. Pairing it with documented field experience strengthens your case with employers, since the credential itself verifies knowledge rather than hands-on performance. If you want structured preparation before the exam, the notes on GVT training cover how to approach it, and our practice test platform lets you check your readiness against the five categories before you pay the exam fee.
Frequently Asked Questions
The written knowledge exam has 75 questions and a 2-hour time limit. The passing score is 75%. ETA does not publish the scored versus unscored allocation or the exact question-type mix.
The exam fee is $105 USD. Remote proctoring adds $16 for the two-hour exam, and it is payable again if you retake remotely. Training and study materials are purchased separately. An indexed ETA Press listing showing $100 conflicts with the current issuer price, so plan around $105 and confirm at registration.
No. The GVT is a written knowledge exam with no hands-on component. It is delivered as a Trapeza computer-based test or paper-and-pencil exam through an ETA Certification Administrator, or remotely with ExamRoom.AI proctoring arranged through ETA.
You are eligible for one free retake after a 30-day wait, and it must be completed within one year of your first sitting. The free retake cannot be used just to raise a score you already passed. Remote proctoring fees still apply on a retake.
The certification term is 4 years. Maintenance requires a Certification Maintenance Form plus either 10 continuing-education hours per year (40 over four years) or supervisor-completed Employer Verification, along with $25 per year ($100 per cycle). Check ETA's current maintenance page, since an older overview document lists a different international annual fee.