- What Is Actually Known About the GVT Pass Rate
- The Numbers That Are Published
- Why a Single Pass Rate Would Mislead You Anyway
- How the Exam Is Built: Format and Scoring Mechanics
- Where Candidates Are Most Likely to Lose Points
- Retake Rules and What They Signal
- A GVT-Specific Prep Sequence
- Test-Day Rules That Affect Your Result
- After You Pass: Term and Maintenance
- Frequently Asked Questions
- ETA International does not publish a pass rate in the sources reviewed, so any specific percentage you see online is unverified.
- The written exam has 75 questions, runs 2 hours, and requires a 75% score to pass.
- One free retake is available after a 30-day wait, within one year of your first sitting.
- Five competency categories feed the exam, from Money Handling through Safety Precautions and Protection.
What Is Actually Known About the GVT Pass Rate
Search for the pass rate of the Gaming and Vending Technician (GVT) credential and you will find confident-sounding figures. Treat them with suspicion. In the issuer sources reviewed for this article, ETA International does not publish a pass rate for GVT. There is no official percentage, no published first-attempt versus retake split, and no annual pass-count report tied to this credential.
That matters, because this site would be doing you a disservice if it invented a number to fill the gap. A made-up pass rate can either scare you off a credential you could earn or make you complacent about one that demands real preparation. What we can do is lay out the numbers that are verifiable, explain what they imply about difficulty, and show you where to focus your preparation.
The Numbers That Are Published
While the pass rate is absent, the structural numbers around the exam are clear and come directly from the issuer. They tell you a great deal about what you are up against.
| Exam Element | Published Detail |
|---|---|
| Format | Written knowledge exam (computer-based via Trapeza or paper/pencil) |
| Number of questions | 75 |
| Time allowed | 2 hours |
| Passing score | 75% |
| Exam fee | USD $105 |
| Remote proctoring surcharge | $16 (via ExamRoom.AI), payable again on a retake |
| Hands-on component | None required |
| Free retake | One eligible retake after a 30-day wait, within one year of first sitting |
| Certification term | 4 years |
Notice what is missing: the issuer does not state the raw number of questions you must answer correctly, nor how many of the 75 items are scored versus unscored. Do not assume that 75% of 75 questions is a clean number you can plan around; the reviewed sources do not confirm the scoring breakdown. For a closer look at how scoring is described, see GVT Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass.
Why a Single Pass Rate Would Mislead You Anyway
Even if ETA published a headline percentage, it would be a blunt instrument for the GVT specifically. Consider who sits this exam. It is a stand-alone, entry-level credential aimed at technicians with an electronics background. The candidate pool is likely mixed: some arrive with years of field experience servicing gaming machines and vending equipment, while others come from adjacent electronics work and are meeting the gaming and vending context for the first time. An aggregate rate blends these very different preparation levels together.
A few reasons a raw pass rate tells you less than you think:
- Self-selection. People who register for a specialty technician credential have usually already decided they are qualified, which can skew results upward compared with a mass-market exam.
- Experience variance. The credential criteria reference practicing-technician experience, but no required duration is published, so candidates differ widely in how much hands-on time they bring.
- Retake effects. Because a free retake exists, a blended rate could mix first-time and repeat attempts in ways that obscure first-attempt difficulty.
The practical conclusion: stop trying to find "the number" and start measuring your own readiness against the five competency areas. If you want a qualitative read on difficulty, How Hard Is the GVT Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026 walks through what tends to trip people up.
How the Exam Is Built: Format and Scoring Mechanics
Delivery options
ETA Certification Administrators proctor the exam, delivered either on computer through Trapeza or on paper and pencil. Remote proctoring is available through ExamRoom.AI and is arranged through ETA; it adds $16 for the two-hour exam. Remote candidates must also meet equipment requirements, so confirm your setup well before test day rather than discovering a problem during check-in. Testing site details are listed on the ETA test sites page, and scheduling specifics are covered in GVT Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.
Time pressure
Two hours for 75 questions works out to a little over a minute and a half per item on average. That is comfortable for questions you know cold and tight if you spend several minutes working through a calculation you are unsure about. The exam rewards candidates who can recall fundamentals quickly and save deliberation for the few genuinely tricky items.
What is not specified
The exact item-type mix (how many are straight recall versus calculation versus scenario-based) is not published in the reviewed sources. GVT-specific open-book rules and adaptive-testing behavior were also not verified, so assume a standard closed-reference format and do not plan around bringing materials into the room.
Where Candidates Are Most Likely to Lose Points
ETA states that examination questions derive from its official competency requirements. Those requirements are organized into five numbered categories, listed here in issuer order. No official percentage weights were verified for any category, so you cannot assume one area dominates. Prepare for all five. For a deeper walkthrough, see GVT Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 5 Content Areas.
Domain 1: MONEY HANDLING
This is the category that most clearly separates the GVT from a generic electronics credential. Gaming and vending equipment exists to accept, validate, store, and dispense money, so technicians are expected to understand the devices that do it.
- Currency and payment acceptance concepts relevant to gaming and vending equipment
- How money-handling devices operate and what failures look like
- Why a candidate strong in pure electronics can still stumble here
Domain 2: ELECTRICAL FUNDAMENTALS
The bedrock of the exam. Expect to apply core electrical relationships rather than merely define them.
- Voltage, current, resistance, and power relationships
- Circuit behavior and basic calculations
- Bring a permitted non-programmable or scientific calculator and practice with it
Domain 3: BASIC ELECTRONICS CONCEPTS
Component-level understanding that supports troubleshooting on the floor.
- Common electronic components and their functions
- Reading how components behave in a working circuit
- Connecting symptoms to likely component-level causes
Domain 4: COMPUTER HARDWARE, NETWORKING, AND DISPLAY TECHNOLOGIES
Modern machines are computers with cabinets around them. This category reflects that reality and often catches candidates who learned the trade on older, purely electromechanical equipment.
- Computer hardware fundamentals
- Networking concepts as they apply to connected machines
- Display technologies used in gaming and vending equipment
Domain 5: SAFETY PRECAUTIONS AND PROTECTION
Safety is both a competency and a professional expectation. Electrical safety sits inside this category as a subsection; it is not a separate sixth domain.
- Safe working practices around energized equipment
- Protective measures for technicians and equipment
- Electrical safety as a subsection of this category
Key Takeaway
Your likeliest weak spot depends on your background. Field veterans should pressure-test Domains 2 and 3 on theory and calculation; electronics-trained newcomers should invest extra time in Domain 1 (Money Handling) and the gaming-and-vending context of Domain 4.
Retake Rules and What They Signal
The retake policy is the closest thing to a safety net, and it also hints at how ETA views the exam: as a competency gate you can reasonably return to after targeted study. The details:
- One eligible free retake is available.
- You must wait 30 days between attempts.
- The retake must be completed within one year of your first sitting.
- The free retake is not available merely to improve a passing score.
- If you used remote proctoring, the $16 surcharge remains payable on the retake.
Do not treat the retake as a plan. The 30-day wait costs time, and the remote-proctoring fee still applies. The smarter use of this information is psychological: a single poor attempt is recoverable, so you can sit the exam when you are ready rather than waiting for a mythical state of perfect confidence. If you do not pass, request your result details and use them to rebuild your plan around the domains that cost you the most. The issuer's exam results and reviews information is the place to start.
A GVT-Specific Prep Sequence
Rather than generic scheduling advice, sequence your preparation around how the five domains build on each other. Electrical fundamentals underpin electronics concepts, which underpin troubleshooting of computer and display hardware, while money handling and safety wrap around everything. A sensible four-week arrangement for a candidate with some electronics exposure:
Electrical Fundamentals (Domain 2)
- Rebuild voltage, current, resistance, and power calculations until they are automatic
- Practice with the same type of calculator you will use on exam day
Basic Electronics Concepts (Domain 3)
- Review components and how they behave in circuits
- Connect each concept to a fault you might diagnose on a machine
Money Handling and Computer/Display Topics (Domains 1 and 4)
- Study the devices that accept and dispense money, plus networking and display technologies
- Spend extra time here if your background is outside gaming and vending
Safety (Domain 5) and Full Review
- Close with safety precautions and protection, including electrical safety
- Take timed practice sets covering all five domains to rehearse the 2-hour pace
This is a template, not a mandate; compress or stretch it to your experience. For a fuller plan, read GVT Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt, and keep GVT Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts handy for last-minute review. To check readiness against realistic questions, work through the timed sets on the GVT practice test site.
Test-Day Rules That Affect Your Result
Preventable procedural mistakes can undermine a well-prepared candidate. Under ETA testing rules:
- A photo ID is required.
- Phones are prohibited.
- Scratch paper and a non-programmable or scientific calculator are permitted; used scratch paper is surrendered at the end.
- Once testing starts, you may not leave the room.
One important caution: the GVT is not named in ETA's Common Formulas Sheet authorization, so do not assume a formula sheet will be provided. Memorize the core relationships you need, and write them on your scratch paper as soon as the exam begins if that helps you. Rehearse with realistic conditions in the practice exams so the rules feel routine rather than stressful.
After You Pass: Term and Maintenance
Passing is the start of a four-year certification term. Maintaining the credential requires a Certification Maintenance Form plus one of two things: 10 continuing-education hours per year (40 over the four years), or a supervisor-completed Employer Verification for relevant employment. The maintenance fee on the live ETA page is $25 per year, or $100 per cycle, and ETA recommends submitting annually rather than waiting until the end.
One unresolved detail: an undated ETA overview document lists an international annual fee of $45 for this credential, while the live maintenance page gives $25 with no regional distinction. If you are outside the United States, confirm the current figure with ETA directly before budgeting.
On the career side, the credential is aimed at technicians working with gaming and vending equipment, which points toward employers that operate or service such machines. To explore what that looks like in practice, see GVT Jobs, and for a financial view, GVT Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis and Is the GVT Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026.
Frequently Asked Questions
ETA International does not publish a GVT pass rate in the sources reviewed. Any specific percentage you encounter online should be treated as unverified. Focus instead on the published passing score of 75% and on mastering all five competency areas.
The written knowledge exam has 75 questions and a 2-hour time limit. The issuer's reviewed sources do not break down how many items are scored versus unscored, nor the exact mix of question types.
You may be eligible for one free retake after a 30-day wait, completed within one year of your first sitting. It is not available to improve a score you already passed with, and the $16 remote-proctoring surcharge still applies if you test remotely.
No. The GVT requires only the written knowledge exam. That said, the questions draw on practical technician knowledge, so hands-on experience with gaming and vending equipment still helps considerably.
The GVT is a stand-alone, entry-level credential, and CETa is not required. ETA's criteria reference practicing-technician experience without a published minimum duration, so confirm your eligibility through GVT Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify and with ETA directly rather than assuming no experience is needed.